Creative writing · indie authors · indie writers · Poetry · weekly fiction · Writing prompts

Exercising the craft—April 10, 2017

By Ekta R. Garg

Prompt: Sometimes I think I remember what it was like, before.

https://promptuarium.wordpress.com/2017/04/03/sometimes-3/

***

Sometimes I think I remember what it was like, before.

Before I needed to cancel lunch dates.

Before I started buying long-sleeved shirts.

Before I had to use heavy makeup.

 

Sometimes I think I remember what it was like, before.

Before I curled in a ball in the closet, whimpering.

Before I took a deep breath when I heard the garage door open.

Before I watched TV shows about single women with envy.

 

Sometimes I think I remember what it was like, before.

Before I kept my gaze on the sidewalk.

Before I skirted co-workers at lunch.

Before I offered friends flimsy lies.

 

Sometimes I think I remember what it was like, before.

Before I avoided mirrors.

Before I invested in soft fabrics.

Before I cut my hair short.

 

Sometimes I think I remember what it was like, before.

Before I gave up on my dreams.

Before I spent all my time surfing online.

Before I started lying to myself.

About him.

Leave a Reply

